Scott Finn http://kccu.org en Should TV Stations Refuse To Air Political Ads That Make False Claims? http://kccu.org/post/should-tv-stations-refuse-air-political-ads-make-false-claims If a television or radio station determines that a political ad is false, should it refuse to run the ad?<p>That's exactly what the nonpartisan group Free Press is calling on stations to do<strong>.</strong><p>"They certainly could reject some of them," said Matt Wood, the group's policy director.<p>At the very least, they could do more fact checking, he said.<p><p>Free Press's new report, <a href="http://www.freepress.net/sites/default/files/resources/left-in-the-dark-timothy-karr.pdf" target="_blank">Left in the Dark</a>, analyzes political ads in several swing-state markets: Charlotte, N.C. Wed, 03 Oct 2012 13:56:00 +0000 Scott Finn 20560 at http://kccu.org In Defense Of Tampa http://kccu.org/post/defense-tampa It's been a rough week for my adopted hometown.<p>First, it looked like our worst nightmare would come true: a direct hit from Hurricane Isaac with tens of thousands of visitors in town for the Republican National Convention.<p>We were spared the worst of Isaac — but then came a raft of snarky stories about Tampa.<p>I find it strange that so many reporters were putting us down, because Tampa and the surrounding area, Hillsborough County, looks <a href="http://nationaljournal.com/2012-conventions/as-goes-tampa-s-hillsborough-county-so-goes-the-country-20120823">more like America</a> than perhap Fri, 31 Aug 2012 15:28:00 +0000 Scott Finn 18597 at http://kccu.org In Defense Of Tampa Tampa Home To The RNC And The Most Political Ads http://kccu.org/post/tampa-home-rnc-and-most-political-ads When the Republican convention in begins in Tampa next week, it will do so in the number one most advertised TV market this election cycle. Thu, 23 Aug 2012 20:30:00 +0000 Scott Finn 18083 at http://kccu.org Presidential Campaign Ads Target Seniors In Fla., Younger Voters In N.H. http://kccu.org/post/presidential-campaign-ads-target-seniors-fla-younger-voters-nh Ask your average American about Florida, and you'll hear something like this: It's hot, it has Disney World, and lots of old people live there.<p>And since the weather and Mickey Mouse don't make good attack ads, both presidential campaigns are trying to scare the bejeezus out of Florida's senior population over Medicare.<p>In New Hampshire, by comparison, President Obama's campaign is currently aiming at young voters — specifically those who might need student loans — and their parents, by trying to link the Republican ticket to state GOP-led cuts to higher education funding.<p>The dueling st Thu, 23 Aug 2012 20:14:00 +0000 Scott Finn 18076 at http://kccu.org Presidential Campaign Ads Target Seniors In Fla., Younger Voters In N.H. Does Ryan Pick Help Or Hurt Romney's Chances In Florida? http://kccu.org/post/does-ryan-pick-help-or-hurt-romneys-chances-florida Here's the <a href="http://webmedia.newseum.org/newseum-multimedia/dfp/pdf12/FL_MH.pdf">above-the-fold headline</a> on Sunday's <em>Miami Herald</em>: "Ryan could hurt Romney in Florida."<p><a href="http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/signal/ryan-pick-damages-market-odds-romney-victory-florida-161839811.html">Pundits</a> are already <a href="http://www.slate.com/blogs/xx_factor/2012/08/11/did_romney_give_away_florida_by_choosing_ryan_.html">predicting</a> that Mitt Romney's vice presidential pick, Rep. Mon, 13 Aug 2012 12:54:00 +0000 Scott Finn 17408 at http://kccu.org Does Ryan Pick Help Or Hurt Romney's Chances In Florida?