Oklahoma Pecan Farmers to get Federal Aid

Oklahoma City, OK – Oklahoma Gov. Brad Henry has announced that federal aid has been approved for Oklahoma pecan farmers in 40 counties hit hard by bad weather last year.

Henry requested a disaster declaration in November, citing the impact of the 2007 ice storm, cold weather in April and October of 2008, and heavy rains from Hurricanes Gustav and Ike.

Pecan growers will be eligible for Farm Services Administration emergency loans and other funds.

The disaster declaration covers Alfalfa, Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Garvin, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Lincoln, Love, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Marshall, Mayes, Murray, Muskogee, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Rogers, Seminole, Stephens, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington.

Farmers in contiguous counties are also eligible for aid.